TWAS THE NIGHT BEFORE THE NIGHT BEFORE THE NIGHT BEFORE CHRISTMAS



TWAS THE NIGHT BEFORE THE NIGHT, BEFORE THE NIGHT, BEFORE CHRISTMAS. I thought I would write a special post as we move into the Christmas celebration with a little humor. Christmas being a religious celebration sometimes puts a strain on all of us who try to make sure everything is perfect and in reality, some of our fondest memories are when we have “those” moments where nothing goes right. I want to share some of the funny times I remember at Christmas time and by revealing these times, you may recall your own funny Christmases or other holidays.
As a child, one of four children, two boys and two girls with less than 5 years age difference; we loved Christmas as we looked at it more from a commercial aspect in those years with Santa at the forefront. We knew Christ was born on Christmas day and had heard the biblical story and it seemed fascinating, but Santa had gotten more attention. I am not saying this to be sarcastic but it was our focus then. We went to visit Santa and sat on his knee and laid our every want and even things we didn’t need on him to provide. Our parents really played into the “Be a good girl or boy and Santa will come on Christmas Eve and you will receive presents”. This would have a good sale if when my parents as well as my aunt and uncle left all of us children at home alone. Gift search was on! We would look and look until we found them. Oh yeah, we got to carefully open (and for those of you thinking kids couldn’t open presents without them being disheveled; you would be wrong) and then we re-wrapped them. The best part is our parents seem to never discover the misdeed so we were so surprised when we opened our gifts on Christmas morning. Talking about blowing the concept of Santa bringing us gifts when we had seen them in the closet THE NIGHT BEFORE THE NIGHT BEFORE THE NIGHT BEFORE CHRISTMAS!!
This little bit of deceit should have taught me a lesson, but I must be a hard study as when I was married the first time, my husband in an attempt to allow me to buy what I wanted would give me cash as my present. For some reason, this was not pleasing to me as remember I liked opening presents more than one time and it came back to haunt me or perhaps it was a little penance for bad behavior in my childhood. I fussed about not having presents to open and I must have been persuasive because finally, he went out and bought me presents and they were wrapped. Oh no, I could feel my past catching up with me. I walked by the tree; I stopped to look at those presents; I picked them up and tried to figure out what they were. Oh no, I began to sweat; the urge was overpowering and I couldn’t resist. I had to open those presents; I was experienced in re-wrapping; what was the harm?
I opened each one and being the expert I was; I re-wrapped each one of them. I was so pleased at the presents and I won’t list them here but he had bought great presents for me. I had gotten presents; surprises. I acted so surprised as I had when I was a child. The difference was I had grown up; I had a conscience; I confessed; and I received the punishment as he was so angry I had not only opened the presents, I denied opening them and acted surprise. It was not a happy Christmas or even a Happy New Year.
Now for deeper thought……Don’t open your presents before you are supposed to open them! In reality, I learned several lessons. Honesty is important and should be a high priority. God loves us even when we exercise bad judgment but God wants us to learn those lessons and not do those same mistakes again. Usually, and this is the most important lesson….Realize that the reason for Christmas was God’s sacrifice to send His Only Son so that we can understand the purpose of Christ’s birth and sacrifice. Christ came so that we, humans with all of our weaknesses, can have Eternal Life and obtain the best Gift, not from Santa, but from Our Heavenly Father….Eternal time with Him!
Christmas message from the blog’s author..me! To all of you who read my blog and continue to support my writings….May you and your family receive the true blessings of Christmas by enjoying your time with your loved ones with reverence for the Christmas season and to continue love for each other throughout the Happy New Year! Until we read again……Arline Miller, Author

FEATURED BIBLE VERSE:

Philippians 2:8-10 And being found in human form, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross. Therefore God has highly exalted him and bestowed on him the name that is above every name, so that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth

(C) COPYRIGHT 2012-2015 Arline Miller Property with rights and permission required for use.
Author: sippingcupsofinspiration

A blogger since 2012, a published author of two Five Star romance novels, A MISTRESS, A WIFE and TELL ME LIES; LOVE ME STILL. Still a small town girl with a lot of experience of people watching.

Leave a Reply

