TODAY THE WORDS are DOES THE GRINCH TRAIN CATS?

Winston the Cat affectionately called Winnie


TODAY THE WORDS are DOES THE GRINCH TRAIN CATS? With all of the busy time of the season starting to fasten its pace on all of us who celebrate Christmas, I find it a great escape to think of something light and comical to relieve some stress. On Facebook someone posted a video of cats attacking Christmas trees and all sorts of things and it was hilarious. It reminded me of my daughter’s cat Winston, or Winnie as we “affectionately” called this black furry creature who was too smart for his own good. Winnie lived a long life through no help from him; he seemed to be a self destructive as he was destructive. 
I thought I would share a little thought for all of you who read the story of  How The Grinch stole Christmas by Dr. Seuss. We remember how he loved to interrupt the normal routine…..Well, Winston loved the same thing and this leads me to my thought….I think The Grinch trained Winnie as well as other cats. They pounce, they sneak, they prowl, they take things, and they love to aggravate.
Yep, I think I may be on to something. Cats must be trained to be on high alert; trained to follow lights or objects; trained to confuse the “enemy” by acting all innocent while planning their next attack; trained to walk on their hind legs to get into a better offensive position; and for sure, they are trained to take out any dog who fails to obey them and be at their beck and call.
When my daughter was on college breaks, she loved to go to concerts with her friends therefore leaving her Mother at the mercy of Sir Winston, the cat. We got along fine for most of the time as I bribe pretty fair with the treats and Winnie was more than happy to push the treat can off the coffee table at the appropriate time (like an alarm clock) when he felt he needed a treat. I obliged to keep peace. We had to have a meeting of the cat and human mind when he thought he could liven up the peacefulness by jumping on my kitchen counter…..And then it began……apparently Winnie had been trained in aerobatics and the chase was on! The Grinch failed to warn Winnie of the water pistol known to stop him in his tracks!!! 
I am sure the Grinch taught Winnie to seek revenge and one day I came in and couldn’t find that cat of mystery anywhere in my apartment. I sought him everywhere calling out his name and even stooping to shaking the treat can which could bring him from the far corners of the world but not this day. This day was the day Winnie decided to make my heart race from the thought he had escaped and what would I tell my daughter, Missy, if I couldn’t find him. I passed the Christmas tree numerous times, double digit visits right by it and heard nothing. I picked up my car keys after seeing the card the pest control guy had left…..Oh no, the panic was setting in. I was panicking and then I spotted two eyes on a high branch of my Christmas tree and there behind those eyes was that black cat hiding on that branch and I think he was laughing! He had been there all of the time taking out his revenge on me. His training had paid off; he had stolen my Christmas spirit as I was thinking acts of revenge myself and then I stopped……then I prayed…..and I think Winnie prayed with me for safety from my glowing eyes.

Now for the deeper thought…..Sometimes in life, it can be very serious, worrisome, scary, terrifying at times. Those are the times to stop and pray for help. It is not a shame to recognize our weaknesses and times we need to ask for help. We need to pray for thanks as I am sure, trained or not, both Winnie and I prayed that day for thanks of survival for both of us. Be lighthearted in life; we are just human and we can laugh at ourselves when necessary. Winston left us after using up all his nine lives and borrowing a couple of lives from other cats for sure, but he gave us good times too. One day I will write a book on Winston, the cat the Grinch trained. 
The Author’s thought for Cat Lovers Everywhere. It takes a special person to love a cat. For all of my friends who are the ambassadors for the feline fur balls, I love everyone’s else’s cat but I must be a dog lover since I don’t own any but I have to say I enjoyed the good times with Winston.
(C) Copyright 2012-2015 of Arline Miller’s writings and photos. All other rights and permissions are reserved courtesy of HowThe Grinch Stole Christmas by Dr. Seuss. Youtube video with original rights preserved.
Author: sippingcupsofinspiration

A blogger since 2012, a published author of two Five Star romance novels, A MISTRESS, A WIFE and TELL ME LIES; LOVE ME STILL and writing RIDDLE ME THIS, LOVE OR BLISS. Still a small town girl with a lot of experience of people watching.

Leave a Reply

