TODAY THE WORDS are ONE MINUTE MORE



TODAY THE WORDS are ONE MINUTE MORE. While watching the news lately and seeing so many tragedies and loss of lives, a thought came to me and I thought I would share this thought on my blog. I have witnessed people saying if my loved one had lived a few minutes more, I could have said goodbye and told them I loved them one more time. Rescue workers have felt if they could have gotten there a minute earlier, they could have saved him or her. Pastors have felt if I had preached one minute longer, a soul might have come to the altar and been saved. I have heard people say, “Oh, I am so thankful because if I had been one minute earlier, I would have been the one in the wreck.”
Let’s take “ONE MINUTE MORE” and consider what can be done in a minute:
Here are some excerpts from the dictionary for the meaning of minute (noun)
1. the sixtieth part (1/60) of an hour; sixty seconds.
2. an indefinitely short space of time:
   Wait a minute!
3. an exact point in time; instant; moment:

                                    Come here this minute!


Take a minute and feel the amount of actual time a full minute is by timing it. It is surprising if we ask someone to sit still and not move for an entire minute. We find ourselves wanting to squirm and it seems forever. This example is building up to the focus of ONE MINUTE MORE.  

                                  
I have displayed this chart to emphasize how many minutes we have available for doing something great and we spend it on leisure and sports (I love my GA Dawgs, so guilty here). I see where on an average day, we spend at least 2.5 hours which is 150 full minutes available. This is to give us a little insight on the possibility of doing a good deed which might take 30 minutes or less. Sit with an elderly person; read to a child which could still be considered leisure; clean out a closet to give old clothes to charity; volunteer for an hour; etc.
Now for the deeper thought….. I am speaking to myself as well as everyone reading this as a reminder; we are all guilty of saying we do not have enough hours in the day to do what we would like to do for others. Should we consider how we spend our “minutes”? If you asked anyone who was dying if they could have One Minute More; what do you think they would say they would do with that minute? Think about how you are going to spend your minutes today because there is no guarantee of any of us having “ONE MINUTE MORE“. Let’s spend our minutes and lives wisely.
DAILY FEATURED BIBLE VERSE:

Proverbs 5:1-2  

My son, pay attention to my wisdom, turn your ear to my words of insight, that you may maintain discretion and your lips may preserve knowledge.

(C) Copyright 2012-2015 Arline L Miller Property and All Rights Reserved.




Author: sippingcupsofinspiration

A blogger since 2012, a published author of two Five Star romance novels, A MISTRESS, A WIFE and TELL ME LIES; LOVE ME STILL and writing RIDDLE ME THIS, LOVE OR BLISS. Still a small town girl with a lot of experience of people watching.

Leave a Reply

