TODAY THE WORDS are MUD PIES


TODAY THE WORDS are MUD PIES. This post is a re print from a few years ago but I love to revisit my blog posts which take me back to a more peaceful time.With everything going on in the world, I feel like retreating into childhood memories and take a breather from all of the media hype. I am not referring to the only good news of the birth of a new prince (now currently a new princess) for Britain as it was wonderfully refreshing when a married couple planned and had a beautiful addition to their family. Of course, the baby will never want for anything, but I wish it love and a stable home life, and maybe a somewhat normal life. Now, let’s take a break from all of the fireworks of life and go back to when a big event was making mud pies. For any of you who are not going to own up to making them, oh come on! Most of us did!

I had a “kitchen” made up from abandoned bricks which I formed into rooms and built up some of them to make a stove. I see why I love to bake and cook; I started my chef experience at an early age. No, we didn’t have the store bought kitchen with the bright appliances the children who were more financially advantaged. I never gave it a thought and off to mud pies, I went. I would turn on the water hose, make a little puddle and go to work. I made excellent mud pies, or at least I thought so. I took pride in them making sure the edges were smooth and rounded. They had to have the right consistency and in my make shift oven they went. My Sister would help, but now that I think about it, she was not into the mud pies like me and I have always known she never liked cooking. Maybe, now I am on to something scientific, ha, ha. If we have more mud pie cooking contests, we might find our future cooks and chefs. Maybe it is in the genes after all or is it the experience of trying to get them just right which develops our skills? It is something to think about for a few seconds. What did you do with your “baked” mud pies? I don’t think I ever tried to eat them but somehow, that leaves my memory. I proudly displayed them until one of my brothers or friends decided to throw them at each other or me. I see a trend coming out of this too; boys have to have a goal of what to do with the finished food; if not edible, throw it! Oh yes, I am learning from the mud pies memory. 

Now for the deeper thought……On mud pies, you ask?…….There are lessons in life in everything we

do. However trivial, God is teaching us in every event or trial in life as to how we can learn and thrive. Simple things are usually the best lessons and we need to listen to life as we are experiencing it. Life is an elevator and we have to punch the right buttons to get to the right floor; but how many times have you started to get off on another floor because others started to move toward the door? I have! It is the same at a traffic light; the lane on the left turn lane starts to move and you have to resist the urge to move too. With mud pies in life, it is important to get the right consistency and sometimes you produce something you just need to throw away since it doesn’t have a good taste. Live life, love life and live life to the fullest (stop once in a while and make some mud pies and get ready to pitch them for a little fun).

DAILY FEATURED BIBLE VERSE:

2 Timothy 3:16                    


All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness

(c) copyright 2012-2015 Arline Lott Miller. The material here copyrighted, use only by permission.

Author: sippingcupsofinspiration

A blogger since 2012, a published author of two Five Star romance novels, A MISTRESS, A WIFE and TELL ME LIES; LOVE ME STILL and writing RIDDLE ME THIS, LOVE OR BLISS. Still a small town girl with a lot of experience of people watching.

Leave a Reply

