TODAY THE WORDS ARE LIVER AND ONIONS


TODAY THE WORDS are LIVER AND ONIONS. I can imagine a lot of your faces making that awful frown at the mention of liver and onions. I happen to like liver and onions but I can remember, when I was young, feeling the same repulsive reaction. I think this dish has gotten a bad wrap, so I want to explain how it is misunderstand and on a lot of occasions poorly prepared. To give you how it is easy to prepare it incorrectly and have it take on a different taste and texture I want to share a story with you. Greg and I were traveling and we had driven close to Atlanta and decided to stop and eat lunch. Coming from the southern part of Georgia, we both had eaten at several Shoney’s and had no problems before. The first sign or flag should have been it was lunch time and hardly no cars were in the parking lot (note to self, always drive on to a different restaurant). We went inside and for some reason, I saw liver and onions on the menu and I decided to order it. Greg agreed and ordered the same. Right after we ordered, a waitress dropped an entire tray on the floor; second flag should have been flying high; but here we stayed. When our order finally came, I could barely cut my liver as it had the texture of leather. Oh well, we took responsibility of making poor choices but the fact remains. The dish had been prepared poorly and it made a huge impact on how we received it. Liver and onions prepared correctly is a good dish if you like liver; but if you don’t, no one can convince you it is good. Now for the deeper thought…..In this message, I am not advocating the dish; I am addressing a possible obstacle in our lives. I understand with liver; you either love it or hate it. At any point and time; not everyone is going to agree on everything. We are individuals; some like a certain thing; some cannot stand the same thing. What the point of the message is it is okay for us to not agree. It is how we disagree which is important. In other words, we need to agree to disagree. I watched a news story and the journalist was only interested in drilling his point home and the guest was trying to stay on tract of what he was standing for. It was self defeating for both parties since it sounded like babbling and I see this babbling so prevalent in our society. It is okay not to like liver and onions; but neither party of liver lovers or liver haters should try to push it down their throats or feel no one should ever eat liver because they hate it. Do you get my drift? It is never going to be a day in which you can please all of the people. Why not respect the other person and agree to disagree? Debates are healthy; hateful arguments do not resolve anything.
DAILY FEATURED BIBLE VERSE:

1 Corinthians 4:6 ESV 

I have applied all these things to myself and Apollos for your benefit, brothers, that you may learn by us not to go beyond what is written, that none of you may be puffed up in favor of one against another. 

(c) copyright 2014 Arline Lott Miller. The material here copyrighted, use only by permission.

Author: sippingcupsofinspiration

A blogger since 2012, a published author of two Five Star romance novels, A MISTRESS, A WIFE and TELL ME LIES; LOVE ME STILL and writing RIDDLE ME THIS, LOVE OR BLISS. Still a small town girl with a lot of experience of people watching.

Leave a Reply

