TODAY THE WORDS ARE A SIMPLE THANK YOU

 
TODAY THE WORDS are A SIMPLE THANK YOU. Let me offer a “thank you” to all of you who are reading this message. Without readers, I am writing to hear myself thinking out loud and you are greatly appreciated. How long does a thank you take to voice or write a thank you? Not long at all, but it seems as people think it is such a sacrifice of their time to say the simple words of thank you. It barely takes a second or two….and why would we ever hesitate? I walked out of a nice soup and salad restaurant the other day and saw an elderly man walking toward the door. Of course, I stopped and held the door for him. He looked straight at me and continued walking in without a simple thank you. I didn’t do it for the thank you but it hit me how often adults speak about teenagers and young adults not being polite, having nice manners, and it may be being passed down. Of course, me being me, and it was a sweet “You’re Welcome” came out before I could check myself. What I should have said was “Thank You for giving me a blessing of helping you.” We remind our grandsons when they sometimes forget and they are little, to say Thank You and Please and Yes Mam and Yes Sir. I understand, and I occasionally get this from younger parents, that is outdated. How are manners outdated? When we can stop talking on phones during breakfast, lunch and dinner; when we stop ignoring the older people struggling to go out of a restaurant; when we use the courtesy phrases but truly mean “Thank You” and “You are welcome” and “Please”, our society would return to a society and not a jungle. Even animals gesture thank you to each other and they express compassion when we as humans can’t understand animals showing better humanity than we express. Now for a deeper thought…..We find ourselves so willing to pray when we are in crisis mode; I am certainly not in opposition to this; I encourage it! However, what about in times of thanks? In other words, when a simple day goes by without sickness; goes without drama; goes by with the ability to pay our bills; our children are safe; our home is secure; our food is prepared and eaten; we are able to sustain our health even if it takes some medication to do so; what do we do? Do we hit our knees and give Our Creator thanks for the protection and the blessings of omission. By this, omission is from harm. In all things, Give Thanks! God is waiting for our Simple Thank You!
DAILY FEATURED BIBLE VERSE:
King James Bible 1 Thessalonians 5:18
In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.

(c) copyright 2014 Arline Lott Miller. The material here copyrighted, use only by permission.

 
Author: sippingcupsofinspiration

A blogger since 2012, a published author of two Five Star romance novels, A MISTRESS, A WIFE and TELL ME LIES; LOVE ME STILL and writing RIDDLE ME THIS, LOVE OR BLISS. Still a small town girl with a lot of experience of people watching.

Leave a Reply

