TODAY THE WORDS ARE FAUX BEAUTY PAGEANT

 
TODAY THE WORDS are FAUX  BEAUTY PAGEANT. With the blog focused on life’s lessons learned through many mistakes, I sometimes like to step outside my blogger mind and give readers a light moment in my past and hopefully put a smile on your face. Several of my classmates read the blog and maybe a few of my Central School classmates (1961, I think) may remember this “Miss Rooster Contest”, our faux beauty pageant of which my shining moment in life being crowned as Miss Rooster. Why the title of Miss Rooster? I don’t have a clue as to how the title evolved, but looking back now, it is hilarious. We had judges and I am not saying the contest was influenced by one of the judges having a slight crush on me; not that I was anything to admire in those days (validated by school pictures taken at the time) but I had moved back from Chicago so it was probably I was the “new kid” on the block who talked weird (or at least everyone thought so) and I did somehow sing and dance pretty good with the song, “Pink Shoe Laces” by Dodie Stevens and was #3 on billboards in 1959 and some of the lyrics were: I’ve got a guy and his name is Dooley; He’s my guy and I love him truly; He’s not good looking, Heaven knows; But I am wild about His crazy clothes; He Wears tan shoes with Pink Shoe Laces; A polka dot vest and Man oh Man…but the big line was the ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh; ooh, ooh, ooh, OOH!  Now if that song and my dance moves couldn’t win Miss Rooster title; nothing would! My illustrious crown was made out of poster paper covered in foil (wish I had it today) was placed on my head and I had my moment of fame. Many people can look back at moments in their lives which at the time seemed glorious but when I think about it; it was a faux contest. I gave up “show biz” but I kept the silly side and once in a while, it comes out for a little while and then hides for a while. Life is not all serious; God gave us a sense of humor for a reason. A good laugh and especially when we can laugh at ourselves lightens the mood for the ability to handle the serious times in our lives. I wish I had kept my crown and wand from the only time I won a title. Or maybe I should try to get up and bust a move with another rendition of “Pink Shoe Laces” as I still remember all of the lyrics… isn’t that a hoot? Live life; love life; and live life to the fullest by loving each funny moment God gave you.

DAILY FEATURED BIBLE VERSE:
Ecclesiastes 3:4 ESV     
A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance;

(c) copyright 2014 Arline Lott Miller. The material here copyrighted, use only by permission.

 

Author: sippingcupsofinspiration

A blogger since 2012, a published author of two Five Star romance novels, A MISTRESS, A WIFE and TELL ME LIES; LOVE ME STILL. Still a small town girl with a lot of experience of people watching.

Leave a Reply

