TODAY THE WORDS ARE IS YOUR BEST ENOUGH

 
TODAY THE WORDS are IS YOUR BEST ENOUGH?

For this topic, I am in my return to childhood mode so here we go. When I was young, and some of you have heard this before; we were not affluent but we were not dirt poor as some people. According to Life in the 1500’s,  ” Most peasant cottages did indeed have dirt floors. Some peasants lived in homes that sheltered animals as well as themselves.1 When livestock was enclosed in a peasant home, it was usually partitioned off in a separate room, sometimes at right angles to the family’s living space. Yet animals could still occasionally find their way into the house proper. For this reason, an earthen floor was a practical choice.” (sourced by: About.com, Medieval History)

We were frugal if I may say so and as children, we had hand me downs. They were clean and patched if necessary and always ironed. Our parents cared for us and they did their “best” and we are thankful for their “best”. Some people try to resent their upbringing if it wasn’t plush. They feel they were victims and use this as an excuse not to do their “best” at things or if some people give it their “best”, they worry is it enough? My suggestion is to weigh our efforts and if we truly have done our best and it our very best; we have done enough. However, with this said, throughout my life; I have listened to others who had more experience; I have listened from those who have more talent; I have researched to find out the missing information I needed to gain more knowledge. In other words, I have challenged my own “best” to make it better. We live in an ever changing world and new ideas, new technology, new skills and new abilities rise up everyday and those willing to learn, change, or adapt finally find their true best and this best is most certainly acceptable and enough to fit any challenge.
Here is my deeper thought……When our backs are up against a wall and we might feel discouragement if we find ourselves challenged; Stop and think. Am I giving this my all? If so, the next question may be; Am I willing to learn new ideas or methods to make this simpler? Or, and this is the hardest part for us to ask; Have I reached my truest best or am I settling for a lesser best so I can feel justified in my efforts? Life is not easy, my friends and one of the challenges is to accept advice from others. I have learned, and trust me, I had to quit bucking and kicking to accept others advice and when I did; I learned more than I had learned in my life until this point. I learn everyday and in every way. Find wisdom from others and our greatest source of wisdom will come from God who gives us His Very Best.

DAILY FEATURED BIBLE VERSE:
2 Timothy 2:15 ESV     
Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a worker who has no need to be ashamed, rightly handling the word of truth

(c) copyright 2014 Arline Lott Miller. The material here copyrighted, use only by permission.

 

When you came into the house you would notice most times that the floor was dirt. Only the wealthy had something other than dirt, that’s where the saying “dirt poor” came from. The wealthy would have slate floors.
Read more at http://www.snopes.com/language/phrases/1500.asp#8VSRGxTE3PBlmOo6.99
When you came into the house you would notice most times that the floor was dirt. Only the wealthy had something other than dirt, that’s where the saying “dirt poor” came from. The wealthy would have slate floors.
Read more at http://www.snopes.com/language/phrases/1500.asp#8VSRGxTE3PBlmOo6.99
When you came into the house you would notice most times that the floor was dirt. Only the wealthy had something other than dirt, that’s where the saying “dirt poor” came from. The wealthy would have slate floors.
Read more at http://www.snopes.com/language/phrases/1500.asp#8VSRGxTE3PBlmOo6.99
When you came into the house you would notice most times that the floor was dirt. Only the wealthy had something other than dirt, that’s where the saying “dirt poor” came from. The wealthy would have slate floors.
Read more at http://www.snopes.com/language/phrases/1500.asp#8VSRGxTE3PBlmOo6.99
When you came into the house you would notice most times that the floor was dirt. Only the wealthy had something other than dirt, that’s where the saying “dirt poor” came from. The wealthy would have slate floors.
Read more at http://www.snopes.com/language/phrases/1500.asp#8VSRGxTE3PBlmOo6.99

Author: sippingcupsofinspiration

A blogger since 2012, a published author of two Five Star romance novels, A MISTRESS, A WIFE and TELL ME LIES; LOVE ME STILL and writing RIDDLE ME THIS, LOVE OR BLISS. Still a small town girl with a lot of experience of people watching.

Leave a Reply

