TODAY THE WORDS ARE LUNCH WITH AUNT BEA

 
 
TODAY THE WORDS are LUNCH WITH AUNT BEA.  On this date, three years ago, our dear Mother left this earth for her eternal journey and I am sad on this day but joyous in her memory. I am not sure if I have posted this story about our Mother so bear with me if you have heard it before; but it is worth repeating if that is the case. Mom had worked at her brother’s bakery and it now houses a great Southern cooking restaurant. Once Mom was injured and couldn’t work, she would still go and visit with friends and family members for lunch. She corresponded her days to coincide with her hair appointment so she could drive to both places before going home. Since I lived out of town, on the days I would be in town, it was already decided we would meet at Holt’s for lunch. The funny part is it was always mixed emotions as I hardly got to talk with Mom as people were joining us and they were busy talking to her. Of course, they were not rude; they loved seeing her and it didn’t hit them I might want to talk to her too. She loved her little popularity and was known by people who some were related but others who were not related called her Aunt Bea. Mom would tell me about her getting a chance to talk to young people who needed someone to listen to their problems and Mom took on that role. She would listen and then, as she said, “Sometimes, I would come down hard on them.” She didn’t cut it anyway but down the center and she was specific in how they needed God in their lives and all of these problems would go away or be solved. She would share her testimony on how Jesus loved her and how she had to change her ways. She would tell them without hesitation, she loved them too, but they needed to start living right. What amazed me in this politically correct world where it seems everyone walks on egg shells to avoid telling young people how life really works; Mom never minded “shooting it straight” and what was even more amazing, these young people loved her for it. They would hold the door, help her with her tray, bring her “goodies” and they returned her love. Now for the deeper thought…..young people respond to the Aunt Beas of the world. They want direction with love added in the mix. They want to hear as Aunt Bea would say when they made changes in their life, “I am so proud of you!”  A note to our Mom in Heaven, “Mom, you showed me how to love others as Christ has shown the world. You gave me direction and you gave me love. You took care of me and you then appreciated everything I did to take care of you. You can’t be replaced; you can be remembered and loved. I speak this message from my heart and I know I speak for my Sister who loves you as I do; You made a deep impression by not trying to impress anyone. You gave love even if others may not have given it back. Thank you “Aunt Bea” alias Our Mother who we miss and love”. In loving memory of  Beatrice (Bea) Holt Lott Hutchinson Sept. 6, 1924 – Jan. 2, 2011.

DAILY FEATURED BIBLE VERSE:
Proverbs 31:26-27 ESV     
She opens her mouth with wisdom, and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue. She looks well to the ways of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness.

(c) copyright 2014 Arline Lott Miller. The material here copyrighted, use only by permission.

Author: sippingcupsofinspiration

A blogger since 2012, a published author of two Five Star romance novels, A MISTRESS, A WIFE and TELL ME LIES; LOVE ME STILL and writing RIDDLE ME THIS, LOVE OR BLISS. Still a small town girl with a lot of experience of people watching.

Leave a Reply

