TODAY THE WORDS ARE RED HOTS

TODAY THE WORDS are RED HOTS. I would like to take you on a trip down memory lane for today and see how many memories this can conjure up. As a child, I remember the first taste I had from the red hot candy, aptly names Red Hot Candy. It certainly didn’t take a rocket scientist to figure out its name as it was truly red and it was “hot”. By today’s standards, it might not even be considered that hot, but as a child who had not been exposed to a lot of spicy, tangy, or fiery hot peppery food; it was HOT. I thought my mouth had caught fire; I ran for water; I felt somehow deceived by my brothers who were laughing themselves to death. After the first few seconds of it cooling down; I wanted more! Where was that crazy thought coming from? I did want more; I did eat more and what was so funny was the more I ate, the less my mouth burned and I started tasting the sweetness present in the candy along with the cinnamon. I hadn’t tasted either in the first bite. I grew to love red hots and even moved to the red hot jaw breakers and I was swiftly moving into loving hot, spicy food. Of course, I went on to replay the first taste to other victims, alias my friends, and laughed like my brothers had laughed at me. The epidemic of red hots had officially broken out in our neighborhood and spread around the world. The candy not only took off, but led to many of the future candies with another surprise taste such as the Sweet Tart saga but I leave that one for another day. One of the side effects of the red hot addiction was possible red fingers and mouth but we ate on and on. What was the appeal of this hot candy? Even today, I have not figured this mystery, but if you gave me a box or a handful I would have gobble them down and smiled when I got the burn in my mouth. Now, for the deeper thought……As little as a piece of this candy is, the effect it can have is so dramatic, I think about how a small word can do the same to another. One little word can be “red hot” and can stir so much animosity or hate or hurt. I wrote a quote the other day which said, “Life is lived one word at a time; not one day at a time.” A handful of loving words such as I love you can allow you to taste the sugar and the spice and can create a great memory. The same amount of words said in a hateful rage, such as I hate you; You are stupid; You can’t do anything right can burn another’s soul in the same way the red hots can burn your mouth. If I can still remember the first red hot taste memory; words can last as long in the mind and heart. Choose your life candy carefully; savor the good taste; forgive the bitter taste of life. Make life sweet and tangy!
DAILY FEATURED BIBLE VERSE:
Ephesians 4:29                     
Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.

(c) copyright 2013 Arline Lott Miller. The material here copyrighted, use only by permission.

 



 

Author: sippingcupsofinspiration

A blogger since 2012, a published author of two Five Star romance novels, A MISTRESS, A WIFE and TELL ME LIES; LOVE ME STILL and writing RIDDLE ME THIS, LOVE OR BLISS. Still a small town girl with a lot of experience of people watching.

Leave a Reply

