TODAY THE WORD IS TWILIGHT

Photo Courtesy of THE TWILIGHT ZONE (TV SERIES 1959)

TODAY THE WORD is TWILIGHT. I am not sure if many of you will remember the series, The Twilight Zone in late 50’s but I watched it as a preteen. The Twilight Zone is an American television anthology series created by Rod Serling. It is a series of unrelated stories containing drama, psychological thriller, fantasy, science fiction, suspense, and/or horror, often concluding with a macabre or unexpected twist. A popular and critical success, it introduced many Americans to serious science fiction and abstract ideas through television and also through a wide variety of Twilight Zone literature. (source Wikipedia). More of us remember the Twilight saga but I am going back to the TV series for my focus this morning. Sometimes the show would be as described as above mixed with thrillers, suspense, and even border lining on horror but what I am going to zero in is the “unexpected twist”. This was one of the first shows along with Hitchcock’s show which sparked my interest in the unexpected, the who dun nit, and the suspense and this may have tweaked the writer’s streak in me. I would watch intently to see if I could figure it out and sometimes, if I missed who dun nit; I would watch it over again later in life or a rerun to see what I missed. It taught me to be more observant than a lot of people and I loved it when I figured it out. In other words, I solved the mystery. I am sure several of you are agreeing and you were part of the “Colombo” era too. Even today, with shows like NCIS, CSI, and especially Criminal Minds, I am still trying to figure them out and the way technology now solves a lot of mystery for us; it is intriguing. Why do I think this relates to a life lesson? Life is a mystery and most of our lives we do not have it figured out. We have been taught about the One behind all of the mystery but it doesn’t become clearer until we have investigated and tried many methods (most of them entirely meant to mislead us) and failed to solve the big mystery of life. It may be Twilight for a lot of life detectives before we figure out “who dun nit”. We have to realize when we put all of the pieces of the mystery together and we find God is behind our life’s destination and God is present even when He is not seen (maybe how the Paranormal saga originated and then went off track). We may never have the complete mystery solved as I listened when Rev. Billy Graham made the statement, “No, I don’t understand everything; I am not required to understand everything.” Maybe he understands some mysteries are not completely solved until twilight occurs and life as we know it changes in the twinkling of an eye and we will all understand it by and by. Live life; love life; and live life to the fullest and when twilight occurs; trust in all which has been solved in your soul.
DAILY FEATURED BIBLE VERSE:
Titus 2:2                     
Older men are to be sober-minded, dignified, self-controlled, sound in faith, in love, and in steadfastness.

(c) copyright 2013 Arline Lott Miller. The material here copyrighted, use only by permission.

Author: sippingcupsofinspiration

A blogger since 2012, a published author of two Five Star romance novels, A MISTRESS, A WIFE and TELL ME LIES; LOVE ME STILL and writing RIDDLE ME THIS, LOVE OR BLISS. Still a small town girl with a lot of experience of people watching.

Leave a Reply

